beading

Standard

latest project, beading a handle to a knife!

well, I have never used superglue to bead anything, so this was a first time for me. And because I am not used to using superglue, I covered both palms of my hands in superglue before I even started. This of course made me hate this project in the beginning, but I actually had a lot of fun beading it. I love beading because it puts me into a meditation, my mind is clear of all things, sometimes I find myself counting the beads and I am already in the 100s!

So what I learned in this project is-

Number one, I hate how super glue dries white, so a good way to make it look nice when you are finished is to use Alcohol to clean it up.

Also, it i way easier to bead if you can find a needle small enough for the beads and have a big enough loophole for the string you are using. You can even use thread and double or triple strand it to make it strong enough. This makes the process go much faster and less frustration for getting that string through the hole.

Well, here is a picture of the handle.

First time beading a knife handle for a friend

The first few rows of beads was already beaded, the beads were way to big, they did not wrap around the handle nicely. So I switched it up to a smaller bead size.

About oyaseyefakayode

I am Oyaseye. I enjoy sewing, beading, painting, craftwork and just...creating! I have started to make children's books that share the ancient traditional stories from West Africa. The first of many is Ijimere and Ekun, the monkey and the leopard. My true inspirations are my mother OYA, my husband, and my two wonderful sonsI hope through this blog I can share ideas, stories and have my own learning experience Also, I hope to get feedback, let me know what you think! Otherwise, I am just as happy with people just stopping by! Many blessings of love and light~

Leave a Reply

